HTC040 THE COLORADAS - big empty

Format: LP+MP3 / CD
Released: November 15th 2013
Pressinginfo: 300 copies (black vinyl)

01. just for you
02. days of luxury
03. well worn trail
04. maxine
05. the bank account blues
06. last years rain
07. like a hawk in the desert sky
08. pistol and my pills
09. brother dave
10. all i can do for today
11. big horns
12. big empty

Big Empty is the newest recording, to be released on November 15th, the year 2013. It often sounds like the blues. It sometimes sounds like country music, back when country music sounded like itself. There are moments of mountain bluegrass, dark folk, and old time. The songs are written and earnestly delivered, re-interpreted as folk music, complete with fingerpicked guitars, clawhammer banjo, and soulful mandolin. There's a pentecostal junkyard man, a soldier with a drinking problem, and a handful of first-person narratives. The Coloradas currently tour the US in a 1986 Toyota Motorhome playing performing arts spaces, roots music festivals, house concerts, and other listening-based venues. They also travel to Europe several times a year. The live show is an experiment in finding common ground between American roots genres with improvisation and creativity, while staying true to their basic source of inspiration: the songs. Roy Davis (songs, vocals, acoustic guitars) currently splits his time between Maine and his home away from home on the Bodensee in Austria. For the Coloradas, he wears the hat of audio engineer, manager, graphic designer, documentarian, and motorhome mechanic. He also travels as a solo performer. Bernie Nye (songs, vocals, banjo, acoustic guitar, harmonica) lives in Maine with his lady and their cat Dinah. When not performing with The Coloradas, he works on a farm.